Skip to content
Raising the bar for excellence in CBT. Enroll in Beck Institute CBT Certification today!
Bruce Liese, PhD, ABPP

Bruce S. Liese, PhD, ABPP is Professor of Family Medicine and Psychiatry at the University of Kansas Medical Center and Clinical Director of the Cofrin Logan Center for Addiction Research and Treatment at the University of Kansas. Dr. Liese earned his PhD in Counseling Psychology from The University at Albany (1983), his Master’s Degree in psychology from Columbia University (1979), and his board certification (diplomate) in Family Psychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology. He completed post-doctoral training at the University of Pennsylvania Center for Cognitive Therapy under the supervision of Dr. Aaron T. Beck. He is a Fellow in three American Psychological Association (APA) Divisions: 29 (Psychotherapy), 43 (Family and Couple Psychology), and 50 (Society of Addiction Psychology). Dr. Liese was President of APA Division 50 in 2017 and he continues to serve as Member-at-Large for Practice. He is also Treasurer of the ABCT Addictive Behaviors Special Interest Group.

His work focuses primarily on the diagnosis and treatment of addictive behaviors. He has been Director of CBT Training for a large multi-center NIDA-funded cocaine treatment study and he is presently conducting research on behavioral addictions. He has taught courses on addictive behaviors, psychotherapy, and evidence-based practice at KU, and he has supervised hundreds of psychotherapy trainees. Dr. Liese has more than 75 publications, and he has co-authored two texts on addictive behaviors with Dr. Beck. Dr. Liese was also Editor of The Addictions Newsletter for ten years, an official publication of APA Division 50. For his work on this newsletter, Dr. Liese received a President’s Citation from Division 50.

In 2015 Dr. Liese received the Distinguished Career Contributions to Education and Training award from APA Division 50, and he received an APA Presidential Citation for his work as a Citizen Psychologist at the 2018 APA Convention. This award was granted for leadership in his own community, where he continues to provide individual and group CBT to at least 20 patients per week.