DATE Organization Award
2014 La Trobe University Doctor of Medical Science (Hon.)
Minding Your Mind Changing Minds Award
2013 Kennedy Forum Kennedy Community Health Award
2012 Yale School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry Yale Psychiatry Distinguished Alumni Award
The Prince Mahidol Award Foundation Prince Mahidol Award
Columbia University Edward J. Sachar Award
2011 American Society of Psychoanalytic Physicians Sigmund Freud Award
Mental Health Association of Southeastern Pennsylvania Bell of Hope Award
National Alliance on Mental Illness of Pennsylvania Scholarship and Research Award
2010 American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year in Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing
2009 American Philosophical Society/University of Pennsylvania Rhoads Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Medicine
Anna-Monika Foundation Anna-Monika Prize
Castilla del Pino Foundation Eighth Castilla del Pino Award for Achievement in Psychiatry
Forum Lundense Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Science and Practice of Psychotherapy
National Nursing Centers Consortium Lifetime Achievement Award
Pasarow Foundation Pasarow Foundation Award for Research in Neuropsychiatry
2006 American Psychiatric Association Adolf Meyer Award
University of Pennsylvania Health System Strecker Award for outstanding contribution in the field of clinical psychiatry
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Lifetime Achievement Award
The Lasker Foundation Albert Lasker Award for Clinical Medical Research
Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences Gustav O. Lienhard Award
2005 International Academy for Suicide Research Morselli Medal for Lifetime of Research in the Field of Suicide
2004 University of Louisville Grawemeyer Award for Psychology
2003 Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences Sarnat Award
2002 Yale University Cherlin Lectureship
National Association for Personality Disorders Treatment and Research Advancements Exemplary Achievement Award
2001 Heinz Family Philanthropies Heinz Award for the Human Condition
2000 American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, Greater Philadelphia Chapter Outstanding and Innovative Research into the Detection and Treatment of Suicidal Individuals
1999 Society for Research in Psychopathology Joseph Zubin Award for Distinguished Contributions in Psychopathology
Brown University Distinguished Scientific Award for the Study and Treatment of Mental Disorders
1998 Association for the Advancement of Behavior Therapy Lifetime Achievement Award
1997 The Nicholas & Dorothy Cummings Foundation Cummings PSYCHE Award for Lifetime Achievement
Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences Senior Member
1996 California Psychological Association Lifetime Achievement Award
Society for Psychotherapy Research Distinguished Scientist Award
Belmont Behavioral Health System Outstanding Researcher Award
1995 Assumption College Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters
1993 American Psychological Society James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award in Applied Psychology
1992 Harvard University The Karen Stone Lectureship
New York Academy of Medicine Thomas William Salmon Award
Albert Einstein College of Medicine The Einstein Award in Psychiatry
1991 National Institute of Mental Health Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) Award for Research Grant #MH47383 Risk Factors for Suicide in Psychiatric Outpatients
American Suicide Foundation Research Award for Lifetime Work on Hopelessness and Suicide
1989 American Psychological Association Distinguished Scientific Award for the Application of Psychology
Brown University William Rogers Award
1987 Royal College of Psychiatrists Fellow
1983 American Psychopathological Association Paul Hoch Award
American Association of Suicidology Louis Dublin Award for Suicide Research
1979 American Psychiatric Association Foundation’s Fund Prize for Research in Psychiatry
1978 Philadelphia Society of Clinical Psychologists Distinguished Researcher Award
1948 Rhode Island Medical Society Award for Research
1942 Brown University Phi Beta Kappa, Francis Wayland Scholar, Gaston Award (for Oratory) and Bennet Essay Prize